Dr. Yiannis Parpottas

Dr Yiannis Parpottas is an Associate Professor in Physics at Frederick University. He holds a PhD in Nuclear Experimental Physics from Ohio University in USA, and he was employed as a
research scientist at the Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory of Duke University in USA. At Frederick University, he is leading the Cyprus Experimental Nuclear Physics Group which
consists of three Units: Heavy Ion Collisions, Environmental Radioactivity, and Nuclear Medicine Imaging. The Heavy Ion Collisions Unit is a member of the HADES Collaboration (7 EU countries, 18 Institutions) which performs research at the Helmholtz Center for Heavy Ion Research (GSI) in Germany. The Environmental Radioactivity Unit performs gamma radiation measurements in buildings materials and foodstuff, and radon measurements in air (indoors), water and soils. The Nuclear Medicine Imaging Unit develops innovative precisely moving phantoms and imaging algorithms which are utilized in a number of local and foreign collaborating Departments of Nuclear Medicine. He has participated in 20 projects funded by the US National Science Foundation, the US Department of Energy, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the European Union. He has been coordinating multi-partner projects funded by the Research and Innovation Foundation and the European Regional Development Fund for the last 14 years. He is the author/co-author of more than 144 publications in peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings (citations: 3700, h-index: 33; google scholars). He has participated in scientific, organizational, and editorial committees of conferences, and he has been invited to present at
several international conferences. He is/was a Board member in many professional bodies and
of the Cyprus Government. In addition, he is in the Management Committee of the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM), he participates in a committee of the European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG), he is a member of the European Commission SET Plan IWG 10 on Nuclear Safety, and he is in the National Advisory Committee on Radiation Protection and
Nuclear Safety.